About Us

Welcome to the Fayette County Clerk's office.

The County Clerk is a constitutional officer elected to a four year term. Originally created to serve as a county's official record-keeper, the responsibilities of a County Clerk have evolved to include many other services.

The County Clerk's duties include: the recording and administration of official documents of many kinds, the preparation and printing of property tax bills, the registration of voters and conduct of elections, and the registration and titling of motor vehicles.

In Fayette County, the office contains records that date back to before Kentucky's statehood in 1792. Fayette County is one of the three original counties formed in 1780.

The Fayette County Clerk's office moved from the courthouse to its present location at 162 E. Main Street in 1984.

Susan Lamb is currently serving as the Fayette County Clerk.