How To Get A Notary Signature Certified

For our office to certify, the notary must be commissioned in Fayette County. The notary must sign exactly the same way as they signed on their commission paperwork (i.e.- signed as Mary J. Smith, cannot notarize as M. Jane Smith).

The notary must include an acknowledgement statement identifying the signatory and the date of the document, and this statement must be written in English. The body of the document can be in another language.  As of January 1, 2020, a notary may also certify that a document is a 'true and correct copy'.

At this time due to our office closure for safety reasons, we prefer that you mail your document to be certified to our office, or drop it in our document drop-box in the Helix Garage, 162 E. Main Street.

The fee is $5 per notary signature that we certify, cash, check payable to Fayette County Clerk, or money order.

Our mailing address is Fayette County Clerk, 162 E. Main Street, Room 132, Lexington, KY 40507.  We are happy to forward your document on to the Secretary of State's Office if you include the stamped envelope and instructions.